Powers or Authorities

Their job is to prevent the ‘fallen angels’ from taking over the world and keeping the Universe in balance. They are also seen as the Angels of birth and death. De Coelesti Hierarchia divides angels into three hierarchies each of which contains three orders, based on their proximity to God, corresponding to the nine orders of angels:

  • Seraphim, Cherubim, and Thrones
  • Dominations, Virtues, and Powers
  • Principalities, Archangels, and Angels

De Coelesti Hierarchia 5th century CE

  Angels’ Army – Guariento di Arpo 1360 Musei Civici di Padova